top of page
  • Marcela Sifuentes

Reflection of Multimedia Journalism

In this field I’ve learned it’s better to know more than you need to and if possible master it. This will make you a more attractive candidate for any job.


Of course, this class focuses on the basics of multimedia journalism which is very common and is preferred. I knew this from the start, hence why I took this class to gain a better understanding and hoping to obtain and level up on certain skills such as photography, video editing, audio skills, and etc.


As a junior, I’ve already had some experience with interviewing, writing, web design, and photography but I’ve seen the growth in each since taking this class. All of the labs and blog posts challenged me to do more research, to apply not only myself but the new methods and tricks learned through the assigned readings and lectures.


I enjoyed learning about audio stories the most since it was something I was unfamiliar with and didn’t care to dabble in before. However, through the exercises and examples that were given, I feel very confident in this new skill that I love. I’ve even been contemplating starting my own podcast do to this new found love of mine.


From my initial audio story about patience to my most recent audio story about vertigo, which I am very proud of, I see the growth and love of this newfound skill. There is still room for growth and that’s what I will continue to do so I can master this skill. I am excited to share and create important stories using audio.


I’ve also learned to love researching for data-driven stories. I was never a fan of such stories but being passionate about a certain story or issue can really motivate you like it did in my recent story. It was very eye-opening and exciting when researching sources and related material to help enhance my story which is something I’d never thought I’d say.


Through this and the constructive feedback from professor Schneeweis has really shaped and directed my comfortability and style of writing. I feel more confident with my writing, video editing, audio skills, photo editing, and photography and I’m eager to work more to further enhance these skills.


I’ve learned to also appreciate other people who excel in these certain skills and their beautiful work that has been brought to my attention through this class and through my own discovery.


I truly believe the best part of this class is being able to become so versatile in your work which I feel is so important especially in journalism. There are so many stories that need to be told but the right media can make all the difference when telling your story.



bottom of page